Lifetime Value of a Dental Patient: Every Estimate We Traced, $2,800 to $45,000 (2026)
Short answer
We found no measured lifetime value of a dental patient. Every lifetime figure we traced, from $2,800 to $45,000, is either a worked example built from three assumed inputs (what a patient spends a year, how many years they stay, how many new patients they refer) or a bare number with no working shown and no source. The usual starting point, a 2018 post on the Academy of General Dentistry's blog by consultant Duke Aldridge, says so itself: "there is not one agreed-upon formula". The same post quotes estimates that "range from $1,100 to $35,000" but gives no source for either end, and we could not trace either one, so this page keeps that quoted range apart from the traced one.
The lifetime value of a dental patient is what one patient is worth to a practice over the whole time they stay: yearly collections times years, often with the value of the patients they refer added on. Every published figure we found is either calculated from assumed inputs or a bare number, not counted from patient records, and the big numbers come mostly from the referral part: in the AGD blog post's own $24,000 model, $18,000 (75%) is three referred patients. What is measured is yearly spend. The US federal MEPS survey puts it at $887 a year per person who saw a dentist (2021, all payers), which comes to about $5,200 over an average stay before referrals, at the 17% yearly attrition that practice advisers quote (our arithmetic).
This page puts every published estimate in one table with its author, its inputs and how much of it comes from referrals; traces where the $10,000, $12,000 to $15,000, $22,000 and $45,000 figures start; sets them against what is actually measured; and shows how to work out your own practice's figure from your own records. For what it costs to win a new patient in the first place, see our companion page on dental patient acquisition cost.
Key terms used in this article
- Patient lifetime value (LTV)
- What one patient is worth to a practice over the whole time they stay: yearly value times years, sometimes plus the value of the patients they refer. Every published dental figure we found is either calculated from assumed inputs or a bare number, not a measurement. Source
- Active patient
- A patient seen for any procedure during the prior 18 months, the definition a Henry Schein practice-transitions handout uses for the active patient count. Source
- Attrition rate
- The share of a practice's active patients lost each year. Expected years a patient stays is 1 divided by this rate, the method a 2017 Dentistry Today column uses. Source
- Referral share
- Our term for the part of a published lifetime value that comes from new patients the first patient is assumed to refer, worked out from each author's own inputs.
- Production and collections
- Production is the value of the work done; collections is what is actually paid. MEPS counts payments, so its spending figure sits closer to collections. Source
What is the lifetime value of a dental patient?
It is a model, not a measured number. We found no study that follows dental patients' records over their whole stay at a practice and reports the total. Every lifetime figure in circulation is one of two things: a worked example (annual value times years, plus referrals) or a bare number with no working shown. The post most pages start from is "What is the Lifetime Value of a Dental Patient?" by Duke Aldridge, DDS, a practice-management consultant, on the Academy of General Dentistry's blog "The Daily Grind" (February 12, 2018). It is a consultant's post on the AGD site, not an AGD study or policy, and it opens by saying no agreed formula exists:
“While there is not one agreed-upon formula to calculate the lifetime value of a dental patient, it is worth investigating. One can find estimates that range from $1,100 to $35,000 per patient (lifetime value depending upon the variables included when analyzing the metric).”
So the honest answer has three parts. The lifetime figures we could trace to an author run from $2,800 to $45,000, depending on the inputs each author picked (table below); the $1,100 to $35,000 in the quote above is the AGD post's own quoted range, with no source for either end. Without referrals, the models for an ordinary patient give $2,800 to $10,000. And the one measured input, yearly spend, works out at about $5,200 over an average stay before referrals (worked example below). Your own practice's number comes from your own collections and attrition, not from any of these.
What does every published estimate say, and who made it?
Here is every lifetime figure we found, with who published it, what kind of source it is, how it is built and how much of it comes from referred patients. "Referral share" is our arithmetic from each author's own inputs. Confidence is about the figure as a measurement: an illustrative example can be quoted correctly and still be Low.
| Figure | Who says it | Type of source | Year | How it is built (spend x years + referrals) | Referral share | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| $1,100 to $35,000 (range quoted in the post, not traced)Source: AGD blog, 2018 | Duke Aldridge, DDS, on the AGD blog "The Daily Grind" | Consultant opinion on a professional association's blog | 2018 | No inputs given; no source for either end | n/a | Low (range unsourced) |
| $24,000Source: AGD blog, 2018 | Duke Aldridge, AGD blog | Consultant's worked example | 2018 | $200 a year routine care + one $1,000 major procedure every 5 years = $6,000 over 15 years; + 3 referrals x $6,000 = $18,000 | 75% | Low (illustrative) |
| $12,000 to $15,000Source: Dental Products Report, 2018 | Dr. Roger P. Levin, Dental Products Report; repeated by Brett Wells, DDS, Dental Economics (2019) | Consultant column, conditional ("If the average...") | 2018 | No inputs, no source | Unknown | Low (no source, no formula) |
| $10,000Source: Spear Education, 2014 | Imtiaz Manji, Spear Education | Consultant column, "hypothetical numbers" | 2014 | $100 a visit x 2 visits a year x 20 years = $4,000 + $6,000 restorative | 0% (referrals discussed separately) | Low (illustrative) |
| $10,000 as the "common" or "magic" numberSource: Dandy, 2022 | Dandy; Darkhorse Tech | Dental lab blog; dental marketing agency blog | 2022, 2023 | No inputs, no source linked | n/a | Low (unsourced) |
| Up to $22,000Source: Dataman Group white paper | Credited to Derek Naylor in a Dataman Group direct-mail white paper; repeated by Darkhorse Tech | Direct-mail vendor white paper quoting a consultant | PDF created 2013; Darkhorse 2023 | No inputs given | Unknown | Low (original not found) |
| $45,000 over 20 yearsSource: Darkhorse Tech, 2023 | Credited by Darkhorse Tech to True Dental Success (Dr. Mark Costes), linked to a 2014 video | Consultant video, second-hand | Video 2014; Darkhorse 2023 | Not verifiable (no captions; not in the video description) | Unknown | Low (unverified) |
| $45,000 (a different one)Source: Virjee Consulting, 2024 | Omar Virjee, CPA, Virjee Consulting | Dental CPA firm blog, hypothetical patient | 2024 | ($8,000 spend - $6,000 costs) x 10 years = $20,000 net + 5 referrals x $1,000 net x 5 years = $25,000 | 56% | Low (illustrative; net of costs) |
| $24,000Source: Darkhorse Tech, 2023 | Darkhorse Tech | Agency worked example | 2023 | $800 a year x 10 years = $8,000 + 2 referrals x $8,000 | 67% | Low (illustrative) |
| $22,400Source: Digital Resource | Digital Resource | Agency worked example | 2026 (page date) | $400 a year x 7 years = $2,800 + 7 referrals x $2,800 | 87.5% | Low (illustrative) |
| $20,000Source: Dandy, 2022 | Dandy | Dental lab blog worked example | 2022 | $500 a year x 10 years = $5,000 + 3 referrals x $5,000 | 75% | Low (illustrative) |
| $10,400 / $37,800Source: Wonderist Agency | Michael Anderson, Wonderist Agency | Agency model, "our data" not disclosed | Undated | Baseline: about $4,000 over 7 to 8 years + $6,400 from referrals; cosmetic or implant: $25,000 + $12,800 from referrals | 62% / 34% | Low (data not disclosed) |
| $30,000+Source: Dental Marketing Guy, 2026 | Justin Morgan, Dental Marketing Guy | Agency worked example | 2026 | $500 a year x 10 years = $5,000 + 5 referrals x $5,000 | 83% | Low (illustrative) |
| $6,800 ("$5,000 to $15,000 or more")Source: DDS Friends, 2026 | DDS Friends staff | Agency worked example | 2026 | $850 a year x 8 years, no referrals | 0% | Low (illustrative) |
| £2,100 to £4,800 over 5 years (UK, mixed NHS and private)Source: Whito, May 2026 | Whito | UK marketing-data vendor; "all figures are estimates" | 2026 | £600 to £1,200 a year, 70 to 80% retention, 5 years, no referrals | 0% | Low (estimates, no named source) |
| Formula only: 15.7 visitsSource: Dentistry Today, 2017 | Brian Quinn (Software Pundit), Dentistry Today | Trade magazine column with a model | 2017 | 2 visits a year x (1 / 0.17 attrition) = 11.76 visits, then divided by (1 - 0.25) for referrals | 25% of visits | Medium (transparent method, assumed inputs) |
Two things stand out. First, every row is Low confidence except the one that publishes only a formula: none of the lifetime figures is a measurement. Second, the column that decides the size of the number is the referral share. In every model above $15,000 that shows its inputs, referrals are the majority of the total, except Wonderist's cosmetic or implant patient, where the treatment itself does most of the work. Even the one UK figure we found is a model: Whito's May 2026 estimates assume £600 to £1,200 a year and 70 to 80% retention over five years, and the vendor says "All figures are estimates and should be used as directional benchmarks rather than precise measurements."
Why does the AGD blog quote a range of $1,100 to $35,000?
The post reports what "one can find" and gives no source for either end. The sentence in full: "One can find estimates that range from $1,100 to $35,000 per patient (lifetime value depending upon the variables included when analyzing the metric)." (source: AGD blog, 2018) We searched for each end of the range separately and found no page that gives $1,100 or $35,000 as its own estimate, only the AGD post and pages repeating it. The range is a report of what the author had seen, not a finding. It is also not the range in this page's title: the lifetime figures we could trace to an author run from $2,800 to $45,000 (table above), and neither end of the AGD range is one of them.
The post does not say which inputs produced either end. The published models disagree widely on all three inputs: yearly spend runs from $400 (Digital Resource) to $8,000 (a CPA firm's hypothetical patient), years stayed from about 6 (Quinn's attrition-based figure) to 20 (Spear Education), and referrals from none to seven per patient. So any range built from them is wide. The AGD post's own model, covered next, lands at $24,000.
How much of a $24,000 lifetime value is referrals?
In the AGD post's own model, three quarters. Aldridge decides "to use 15 years as the lifetime of a typical patient", prices exams, bitewings and cleanings at $200 a year, and adds one $1,000 major procedure every five years, which gives "15-year income per patient = 3 × $2,000 = $6,000". Then he adds "One referral every 5 years or three referrals every 15 years = 3 × $6,000 = $18,000", for a total of $24,000 (AGD blog, 2018). The patient's own spending is $6,000, or $400 a year; the other $18,000 (75%) is three new patients the first one is assumed to bring in, each valued at the full $6,000.
The referral rate is the author's own assumption, and he ties it to his training program: "I have estimated that a “happy” patient will refer one new patient to your practice every five years. This is very conservative because a dental business which has been trained and implements The Dentist’s Edge® systems will yield one new patient referral for 50 percent of its patient base annually."
The same pattern runs through the other models. Their referral inputs run from 0.25 referred patients per patient in Brian Quinn's Dentistry Today formula to 2 (Darkhorse Tech), 3 (the AGD post, Dandy), 5 (Dental Marketing Guy, Virjee Consulting) and 7 (Digital Resource); Wonderist counts "a weighted average of 1.6 patients per referral". We found no published measurement of how many new patients an average dental patient refers, and none of the models cites one. Most of them also value each referred patient at the full direct value of the first, so the referral line grows as fast as the assumed spend and years do.
Without referrals, the models shrink to $2,800 to $10,000
Strip the referral line out and the published models for an ordinary patient give $2,800 (Digital Resource), about $4,000 (Wonderist baseline), $5,000 (Dandy; Dental Marketing Guy), $6,000 (the AGD post), $6,800 (DDS Friends), $8,000 (Darkhorse Tech) and $10,000 (Spear Education, over 20 years). Only two special cases go higher before referrals: Wonderist's cosmetic or implant patient ($25,000) and Virjee Consulting's hypothetical $8,000-a-year patient ($20,000 net of costs).
Where do the $10,000, $22,000 and $45,000 figures come from?
Each round number that circulates has a traceable early appearance, and none of them starts as a measurement.
$10,000: a hypothetical example from 2014
The earliest worked $10,000 we found is a May 2014 Spear Education column by Imtiaz Manji, "Do You Already Have a Million-Dollar Practice?": "If a patient simply returns for hygiene twice a year and you retain them for 20 years, that’s $4,000 right there (based on a very conservative average of $100 per visit). Add to that an estimated $6,000 in restorative treatment over that time and you get $10,000 in value from every patient." The column labels it plainly: "(These are hypothetical numbers to give us some context.)" (Spear Education, 2014). We cannot prove it is the first use of $10,000, only that it is the earliest worked example we found.
Later pages drop the label. A 2022 post from the dental lab Dandy says "$10,000 is a common PLV for general dental practitioners" (Dandy, 2022), and a 2023 post from the dental marketing agency Darkhorse Tech says "You may have heard $10,000 thrown around as the magic number for the average lifetime value of a dental patient" (Darkhorse Tech, 2023). Neither links a source for it.
$12,000 to $15,000: an "if" that became an average
This one starts in a January 2018 Dental Products Report column by Dr. Roger P. Levin on reactivating inactive patients: "If the average lifetime value of a dental patient is in the range of $12,000-$15,000, then the loss of even one patient is a serious event." The article gives no source and no calculation for the range (Dental Products Report, 2018). In May 2019 a Dental Economics article on patient attrition by Brett Wells, DDS, repeated it as "If you consider that the average lifetime value of a patient is between $12,000 and $15,000", with Levin's column as its reference (Dental Economics, 2019). Pages that now credit Dental Economics with a $12,000 to $15,000 average are citing a citation of a sentence that had no source.
$22,000: "up to", credited to the author of a book we could not find
The earliest attribution we could fetch is a direct-mail white paper from the list company Dataman Group (the PDF was created in December 2013): "According to Derek Naylor, author of Fundamentals of Dental Marketing, a new potential lifelong patient is worth up to $22,000!" (Dataman Group white paper). The same paper then does its own math with "a lifetime patient value of $15,000 instead of $22,000". We searched for the book and for Naylor's own publications and found neither, so we could not see his calculation. Note the drift: in 2013 it is a ceiling ("up to"); by 2023, Darkhorse Tech presents it as Naylor's "more optimistic estimate".
$45,000: two different numbers
The first $45,000 is credited by Darkhorse Tech to True Dental Success: "At the top of the spectrum, True Dental Success believes the lifetime value of a dental patient is around $45,000 over a 20-year lifetime." The link behind it is a January 2014 YouTube video, "Dentist Marketing - Lifetime Value of a Dental Patient", on consultant Dr. Mark Costes's channel (video, 2014). Its description does not contain the figure, the video has no captions, and the truedentalsuccess.com address now leads to the homepage of Costes's Dental Success Institute, which shows no lifetime value. We could not confirm the number in the video, so treat it as attributed, not established.
The second $45,000 is unrelated: a November 2024 post by Omar Virjee, CPA, of the dental CPA firm Virjee Consulting. Its hypothetical patient, "Max", has "been with your practice for 10 years, spending $8,000 annually, with $6,000 in annual costs", which gives $20,000 net of costs, plus "$1,000 x 5 years x 5 referrals = $25,000", for a total of $45,000 (Virjee Consulting, 2024). It is the only published model we found that subtracts the cost of care, so it measures profit rather than revenue. Its patient also spends $8,000 a year, about nine times the $887 national average that MEPS measured (our arithmetic).
How did the misquotes spread?
The pattern is the same each time: a conditional sentence, a hypothetical example or a ceiling ("up to") is repeated without its qualifier, then credited to the most authoritative name in the chain. Here is where each circulating claim actually starts.
| Claim as it circulates | Usually credited to | Where it actually starts |
|---|---|---|
| "The average lifetime value of a dental patient is $12,000 to $15,000"Source: Dental Products Report, 2018 | Dental Economics | Dr. Roger P. Levin, Dental Products Report, January 2018: an "If..." sentence with no source. Dental Economics (Brett Wells, 2019) repeats it and cites Levin. |
| "$10,000 is the common number"Source: Spear Education, 2014 | Industry consensus | The earliest worked $10,000 we found: Imtiaz Manji, Spear Education, 2014, labeled "hypothetical numbers". Dandy (2022) and Darkhorse Tech (2023) later call it "common" or "magic" without a source. |
| "$22,000, Derek Naylor's estimate"Source: Dataman Group white paper | Derek Naylor | A 2013 Dataman Group direct-mail white paper: a new patient "is worth up to $22,000", credited to Derek Naylor, described as the author of a book we could not find. By 2023 an agency blog calls it his estimate. |
| "$45,000 over a 20-year lifetime"Source: Darkhorse Tech, 2023 | True Dental Success (Dr. Mark Costes) | Credited by Darkhorse Tech, linked to a 2014 video whose description does not contain it and which has no captions. Unconfirmed, and not the same number as the 2024 CPA-firm $45,000 (a hypothetical, net of costs). |
| "Estimates range from $1,100 to $35,000"Source: AGD blog, 2018 | The AGD | A 2018 post by consultant Duke Aldridge on the AGD blog, with no source for either end. |
| "$10K+ patient lifetime value"Source: CareCredit study page | CareCredit | The CareCredit Dental Lifetime of Care Study measures lifetime out-of-pocket dental cost per person ($51,000 to $95,000 or more, including premiums). It has no practice-side lifetime value and no $10,000. |
| "About $6,700 on average"Source: Dental Marketing Guy, 2026 | Another marketing firm's research | Cited by a 2026 agency post with a link to a calculator page we could not open. Not verified. |
The one-line correction
None of the dental patient lifetime value figures we traced is a measurement. $10,000 is a 2014 hypothetical, $12,000 to $15,000 is a 2018 "if", $22,000 is an "up to" credited to Derek Naylor, described as the author of a book we could not find, and the figures above $20,000 are mostly referrals. We ran the same kind of source audit on lead response time statistics and on webinar attendance statistics, where the most-quoted numbers also turned out to be misattributed or untraceable.
How much does the average patient spend at the dentist each year?
$887 in 2021, per person who saw a dentist, counting every payer. That is the US federal Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS), in AHRQ Statistical Brief #555 by R. Henry Olaisen and Richard J. Manski (March 2024): "Between 2019 and 2021, the average annual dental expenditures for each person with any dental visits did not vary significantly ($864, $829, and $887, respectively, in inflation-adjusted dollars)." Expenditures are "the sum of payments for care received, including out-of-pocket payments and payments made by private insurance, Medicaid, Medicare, and other sources", in constant 2021 dollars (AHRQ MEPS, 2024). The same brief puts the average at 2.3 dental visits a year in 2021, so about $386 a visit (our arithmetic).
By age, 2021 spending per person with a visit was $721 for ages 2 to 17, $846 for 18 to 64, $1,170 for 65 to 74 and $1,244 for 75 and older. In 2020, around 131 million people, 40.8% of the population the survey covers, used dental care (AHRQ MEPS, 2024).
Three caveats keep the figure honest. It is per person across every dental office they used in the year (general dentist, orthodontist, oral surgeon), not per practice. It is payments, so it sits closer to a practice's collections than to its production. And it is household-reported and US only: the brief notes that expenditures for dental events "are not verified using administrative records".
The ADA Health Policy Institute gives the national picture. National dental spending was $189 billion in 2024, 3.6% of total health expenditure. Per capita spending was $430 in 2020, down from $442 in 2019 (constant 2020 dollars). And 45% of the US population had a dental visit in the past 12 months in 2022. The per capita figure divides spending by every resident, including the majority who did not see a dentist that year, so it is lower than per-patient spending by design. Do not use it as a patient's annual value.
Set against these, the published models are easy to place. DDS Friends' $850 a year is close to the MEPS $887; the AGD post's direct $400 a year is under half of it; Virjee Consulting's $8,000 is about nine times it (our arithmetic).
Which dental patient value figures come from data, and how good is the data?
These are the figures behind the inputs: yearly spend, new-patient value and how long patients stay. None of them is a lifetime value of a patient to a practice, but they are the numbers a lifetime value should be built from. They are not equally solid: the Confidence column runs from a federal survey (High) down to a vendor's client survey with an unstated number of respondents and the 17% attrition rate most models use, which comes from a handout with no stated sample or source (both Low).
| Study / source | Year | Sample | Finding | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AHRQ, MEPS Statistical Brief #555Source: AHRQ MEPS, 2024 | Data 2019-2021, published March 2024 | Nationally representative MEPS household sample, US civilian noninstitutionalized population aged 2 and older; household-reported | $887 a year per person with any dental visit (2021, all payers, constant 2021 dollars); 2.3 visits a year | High (primary) |
| ADA Health Policy Institute, National Dental ExpendituresSource: ADA HPI | 2024 data, released 2026 | HPI analysis of CMS national health expenditure accounts | $189 billion national dental spending, 3.6% of total health expenditure | High (primary) |
| ADA Health Policy Institute, via ADA NewsSource: ADA News, 2021 | 2020 data, published December 2021 | HPI analysis of CMS, BEA and Census data | $430 per US resident (every resident, not per patient), down from $442 in 2019 | High (primary) |
| ADA Health Policy Institute, Dental Care MarketSource: ADA HPI | 2022 data | Not stated on the page | 45% of the US population had a dental visit in the past 12 months | High (primary) |
| Sikka Software data, DentistryIQ (Kevin Henry)Source: DentistryIQ, 2017 | 2016 data, published June 2017 | 12,500+ practices, 2010 to 2016 | $4,220.25 average gross production per patient seen for a comprehensive exam; article solicited by the vendor | Medium (vendor data; time window unclear) |
| PostcardMania client survey, Dental Economics (Joy Gendusa)Source: Dental Economics, 2019 | Published June 2019 | Database of 6,222 dental clients; number of respondents not stated | 81% collect $500-plus from a new patient in the first year; 43% keep a new patient 6 to 10 years | Low (vendor client survey) |
| Henry Schein Professional Practice Transitions handoutSource: Henry Schein handout | Undated (PDF created 2009) | No sample or source stated | About 17% of the active patient base lost each year | Low |
| Dental Intelligence, reported by Brett Wells (Dental Economics)Source: Dental Economics, 2019 | 2019 | 4,000+ offices | Average yearly attrition "closer to 25%" | Medium (vendor data, second-hand) |
| CareCredit / Synchrony, Dental Lifetime of Care StudySource: CareCredit | Fielded January 2023 | 1,335 US respondents aged 20 to 79+, plus 22 dentist and practice-manager interviews | $51,000 to $95,000 or more lifetime out-of-pocket dental cost for ages 20 to 79, including premiums (a consumer cost, not a practice value) | Medium (vendor-commissioned) |
The CareCredit figure is the one most often mistaken for a practice number. It spreads one person's dental spending across every dentist, every insurance premium and every decade of adult life: "out-of-pocket costs for adults aged 20 to 79 averaged $51,000 to $95,000 or more", including dental benefit premiums but not veneers, implants, orthodontics or other cosmetic work (CareCredit, survey fielded January 2023). It shows why "lifetime value" means different things to different writers; it is not what one patient is worth to one practice.
How much is a new dental patient worth?
For the first year, the only figures are vendor data and a vendor's client survey; beyond that, it is the same lifetime model as above.
- About $4,200 of gross production per new patient (2016, vendor data). A June 2017 DentistryIQ article by Kevin Henry, using data "collected by Sikka Software from more than 12,500 dental practices", reports average gross production per patient seen for a comprehensive exam of $4,220.25 in 2016, and between about $4,000 and $4,200 in every year from 2010 to 2016. It is gross production, not collections; the article does not make clear what period the ratio covers; and it carries the disclosure that it was solicited by Sikka Software (DentistryIQ, 2017). It is not a lifetime value.
- $500-plus in the first year (vendor client survey). Joy Gendusa, founder of the direct-mail firm PostcardMania, wrote in Dental Economics in June 2019 about her yearly survey of her dental clients (6,222 of them; the number who answered is not stated): "46% of dentists say new patients spend $150 to $400 on the first visit" and "81% of respondents are collecting $500-plus from a new patient during the first year" (Dental Economics, 2019).
- Agency examples. DDS Friends puts a new patient at $6,800 (8 years at $850 a year) and says one "may easily generate $5,000 to $15,000 or more", with no source for either (DDS Friends, 2026); Wonderist puts its baseline patient at "around $4,000 in collections" over seven to eight years (Wonderist Agency).
The practical answer for a practice: a new patient is worth your own first-year collections per new patient for year one, then your annual value per active patient for each further year they stay. Our dental practice phone call statistics page shows how to turn that into the cost of a missed new-patient call, and the dental case acceptance statistics page covers how much of the treatment a new patient is offered actually goes ahead.
How long does a dental patient stay with one practice?
The tenure input is the weakest. Most models assume a round number: 7 years (Digital Resource), 7 to 8 (Wonderist), 8 (DDS Friends), 10 (Dandy, Darkhorse Tech, Dental Marketing Guy, Virjee Consulting), 15 (the AGD post), 20 (Spear Education). Darkhorse Tech advises "If you’re not sure, use an industry average of ten years", with no source for the average.
The only rate-based figure is attrition. An undated Henry Schein Professional Practice Transitions handout on the active patient count (the PDF was created in 2009) says: "If a practice undergoes a normal attrition rate, they will experience approximately a 17% erosion of their active patient base each year as patients relocate, die, etc." It states no sample or source (Henry Schein handout). A 2017 Dentistry Today column by Brian Quinn turns that into a tenure: "the typical patient will stay with the practice for 1/0.17 years, or about 5.88 years" (Dentistry Today, 2017).
The same vendor is credited with two different rates. Quinn's 2017 column says Dental Intelligence data confirmed the 17% rate ("This statistic is confirmed by data provided from Dental Intelligence"), and that the top 10% of practices observe a 3% attrition rate. Two years later, the 2019 Dental Economics article by Brett Wells reports the same vendor at closer to 25%: the practice management software company Dental Intelligence "has found that in the over 4,000 offices they work with, the average is closer to 25%" (Dental Economics, 2019), which would mean about four years per patient (our arithmetic). On the survey side, the largest group in PostcardMania's client survey (43%) said they keep a new patient six to 10 years on average.
Years stayed is also an input a practice can move. Recall, reactivation and membership plans all work on it; see what is and is not measured on dental membership plans and retention, dental no-shows and reactivating lapsed treatment plans.
How do you calculate the lifetime value of your own patients?
Use the structure from Brian Quinn's 2017 Dentistry Today column, the only published method we found that shows every step: expected years is 1 divided by the attrition rate, and referrals multiply the value by 1 divided by (1 minus p), where p is the share of patients who refer a new one. His example: two visits a year for 5.88 years is 11.76 visits, and with p = 0.25 that becomes 15.7 visits over a lifetime (the column writes 11.75 in that line). He then turns visits into dollars by multiplying by average production per visit and by the collections rate (Dentistry Today, 2017).
- Annual value per active patient. Last year's collections divided by your active patients. The Henry Schein handout's definitions are a fair start: an active patient is one seen for any procedure in the prior 18 months, and dividing receipts by the active patient count "yields the average patient annual value".
- Years. 1 divided by your own yearly attrition rate, taken from your practice records.
- Direct lifetime value. Step 1 times step 2.
- Referrals, only if you track them. If you know p, the share of patients who refer a new patient, divide the direct value by (1 minus p). If you do not track referrals, leave this step out rather than borrow someone else's assumption.
- Revenue or profit. Decide which you need. To set a marketing budget, compare against margin, not collections: subtract the cost of care, as only the Virjee Consulting model does.
| Step | Input | Result (our arithmetic) |
|---|---|---|
| Annual valueSource: AHRQ MEPS, 2024 | $887 a year (MEPS 2021, all payers, per person who saw a dentist) | $887 |
| Years at 17% attritionSource: Dentistry Today, 2017 | 1 / 0.17 (the Henry Schein handout rate, as Quinn uses it) | About 5.9 years |
| Direct lifetime value | $887 x 5.88 | About $5,200 |
| Same at 25% attritionSource: Dental Economics, 2019 | 1 / 0.25 = 4 years (the Dental Intelligence rate, via Wells) | About $3,500 |
| With referrals at p = 0.25Source: Dentistry Today, 2017 | About $5,200 / (1 - 0.25) (Quinn's assumed rate) | About $7,000 |
| Per visitSource: AHRQ MEPS, 2024 | $887 / 2.3 visits (MEPS 2021) | About $386 |
These results are a national illustration, not a benchmark for any one practice: MEPS counts spending at every dental office a person used. The direct figure lands inside the no-referral range of the published models ($2,800 to $10,000), and well below the $20,000-plus figures, most of which get there through several assumed referrals per patient. Once you have your own figure, set it against what it costs to win a patient: our dental patient acquisition cost page covers cost per lead and how to work out your own acquisition cost.
What could we not verify?
Said plainly, after searching for each claimed source:
- A measured lifetime value. We found no study that follows dental patients' records over their whole stay and reports the total. What is measured is annual spend (MEPS), national totals (ADA HPI), one vendor's production per new patient (Sikka Software data) and self-reported survey answers (PostcardMania, CareCredit).
- Either end of the AGD range. The post gives no source for $1,100 or $35,000, and searches for each turned up only the post and pages repeating it.
- A source for $12,000 to $15,000. Levin's 2018 column gives none, and no calculation.
- Derek Naylor's $22,000. We found no listing for "Fundamentals of Dental Marketing" and no publication by Naylor, so we could not see his calculation.
- The $45,000 credited to True Dental Success. Not in the video's description, no captions to check, and not on the site the old address now leads to.
- A practice-side lifetime value in the CareCredit study. It has none, and no $10,000 figure.
- A measured referral rate. None of the models cites one, and we found none.
- A "$6,700" average lifetime value credited by a 2026 agency post to another marketing firm's calculator, which we could not open.
- An often-quoted small survey of 68 dentists, whose original page we could not open; we use none of its numbers.
What does an unanswered new-patient call cost in lifetime terms?
The same arithmetic. Not every unanswered call is a lost patient, but when a new patient calls, nobody answers and the caller books elsewhere instead, the practice loses that patient's annual value for every year they would have stayed, plus any patients they would have referred. With the national inputs above, that is about $5,200 per lost patient before referrals (our arithmetic); with your own collections and attrition, it is your own figure. Our dental practice phone call statistics page covers how many calls go unanswered and how to size the loss, and the true cost of missed calls walks through the same method for any service business.
The fix is capacity: answer the new-patient calls your team cannot get to (busy hours, lunch, after hours) and book them, so the same team sees more new patients. That is the job of an AI voice agent in a dental practice. We compare the options in the best AI receptionists for dental clinics, and our own setup for practices is on the AI voice agent for dental clinics page. To hear one, call Jessica, our English-speaking AI agent, at +1 (218) 636-0234, or book a call on our contact page.
Frequently Asked Questions
We found no measured figure. Every lifetime figure we could trace to an author, from $2,800 to $45,000, is either a model built from an assumed yearly spend, an assumed number of years and, in most of the big ones, assumed referrals, or a bare number with no working shown. A 2018 post on the Academy of General Dentistry blog by consultant Duke Aldridge says there is no agreed formula and quotes a separate range of $1,100 to $35,000, with no source for either end. The measured input is yearly spend: $887 per person who saw a dentist in 2021 (AHRQ MEPS, all payers), or about $5,200 over an average stay at 17% yearly attrition, before referrals (our arithmetic).Source: AHRQ MEPS Statistical Brief #555, 2024
For the first year, the figures are vendor data. Sikka Software data from more than 12,500 practices put average gross production per patient seen for a comprehensive exam at about $4,200 in 2016 (DentistryIQ, 2017), and 81% of respondents to PostcardMania's survey of its own dental clients said they collect $500-plus from a new patient in the first year (Dental Economics, 2019). Over a lifetime it is a model: your own annual collections per active patient divided by your attrition rate, plus referrals only if you track them.Source: DentistryIQ, 2017
The earliest worked $10,000 we found is a 2014 Spear Education column by Imtiaz Manji: hygiene twice a year at $100 a visit for 20 years ($4,000) plus $6,000 of restorative treatment. The column calls these "hypothetical numbers to give us some context". Later blogs (Dandy, 2022; Darkhorse Tech, 2023) call $10,000 the "common" or "magic" number without a source.Source: Spear Education, 2014
Not originally. It starts as a conditional sentence with no source in a January 2018 Dental Products Report column by Dr. Roger P. Levin: "If the average lifetime value of a dental patient is in the range of $12,000-$15,000, then the loss of even one patient is a serious event." A 2019 Dental Economics article by Brett Wells repeated it with Levin's column as its reference. Neither gives a calculation.Source: Dental Products Report, 2018
Because its author, consultant Duke Aldridge, reports estimates that "one can find" in a 2018 post on the AGD blog, noting that the value depends on "the variables included". The post gives no source for either end and does not say which inputs produced them, and we found no page that gives $1,100 or $35,000 as its own estimate. The lifetime figures we could trace to an author run from $2,800 to $45,000. The published models disagree widely on all three inputs: yearly spend ($400 to $8,000), years stayed (about 6 to 20) and referrals (none to seven per patient). So any range built from them is wide.Source: AGD blog, The Daily Grind, 2018
$887 in 2021, per person who had any dental visit (US civilian noninstitutionalized population aged 2 and older), counting out-of-pocket payments and payments by private insurance, Medicaid, Medicare and other sources (AHRQ Medical Expenditure Panel Survey, Statistical Brief #555, March 2024). The average was 2.3 visits a year, about $386 a visit (our arithmetic). The ADA Health Policy Institute's $430 per capita figure for 2020 divides spending by every resident, including those who did not visit, so it is not a per-patient number.Source: AHRQ MEPS Statistical Brief #555, 2024
Take last year's collections divided by your active patients (seen in the past 18 months) for the annual value, multiply by 1 divided by your yearly attrition rate for the years, and, only if you track referrals, divide by (1 minus the share of patients who refer someone). The structure comes from a 2017 Dentistry Today column by Brian Quinn. With national inputs ($887 a year, 17% attrition) that is about $5,200 before referrals (our arithmetic). Subtract the cost of care if you need profit rather than revenue.Source: Dentistry Today, 2017
Only handouts and vendor data give a figure. The most-quoted attrition rate, about 17% of active patients a year, comes from an undated Henry Schein practice-transitions handout with no stated source; at that rate a patient stays about 5.9 years. The same vendor is credited with two rates: a 2017 Dentistry Today column says Dental Intelligence data confirmed the 17%, and two years later Dental Economics (2019) reported Dental Intelligence data from more than 4,000 offices at closer to 25%, or about four years (our arithmetic). The largest group (43%) in a PostcardMania survey of its own dental clients said they keep a new patient six to 10 years.Source: Dental Economics, 2019
Most of the big ones do, and referrals are usually most of the total. In the AGD blog post's $24,000 model, $18,000 (75%) is three referred patients; Digital Resource's $22,400 is 87.5% referrals, Dental Marketing Guy's $30,000-plus is 83% and Darkhorse Tech's $24,000 is 67% (our arithmetic from each author's inputs). We found no published measurement of how many new patients an average dental patient refers.Source: AGD blog, 2018
No. It is a consumer survey (1,335 US respondents and 22 dentist or practice-manager interviews, January 2023) of what a person pays out of pocket for dental care over adult life: $51,000 to $95,000 or more for ages 20 to 79, including dental benefit premiums. It has no figure for what a patient is worth to one practice, and no $10,000 figure.Source: CareCredit, Dental Lifetime of Care Study
Founder & CEO, AInora
Building AI voice agents that let businesses serve more clients with the same team. The agents call back every new lead, re-contact past customers and take the calls the team cannot get to, and the work lands in the client's own CRM.
View all articlesReady to try AI for your business?
Hear how AInora sounds handling a real business call. Try the live voice demo or book a consultation.
Related Articles
Dental Patient Acquisition Cost: What It Really Takes (2026 Data)
Cost per lead, conversion and case acceptance, and how to work out your own acquisition cost.
Dental Practice Phone Call Statistics (2026)
How many dental calls go unanswered, and how to size what a missed new-patient call costs.
Dental Membership Plans: What Is Measured and What Is Not (2026)
What the evidence says about membership plans and keeping patients longer.
Dental No-Show Statistics & How AI Reduces Them (2026 Data)
No-show rates, what they cost a practice, and what reduces them.
Dental Case Acceptance Statistics: What Is Actually Measured (2026)
How much of the treatment a new patient is offered actually goes ahead, and what the research measures.
The Real Cost of Dental Front Desk Turnover (2026 Data)
What it costs a practice when front desk staff leave, and which published figures show their method.