Sales Follow-UpSales StatisticsMyth AuditSMEIVelocifyStatistics

"80% of Sales Need 5 Follow-Ups": Where the Statistic Really Comes From (2026)

JB
Justas ButkusFounder, AInora
··14 min read

No study stands behind "80% of sales require five or more follow-ups, and 44% of salespeople give up after one". The version credited to the National Sales Executives Association ("80% of sales are made on the fifth to twelfth contact") traces, by the account of its successor body SMEI, to a 1942 survey by one local chapter with a sample of fewer than 40, and the earliest source we found for the 80% plus 44% package is a 2009 Marketing Donut column by Robert Clay that names no study at all. The measured data that does exist counts call attempts to reach a lead: in one dataset of almost 3.5 million leads, 93% of converted leads were reached by the sixth call attempt.

TL;DR

  • The "80% on the fifth to twelfth contact" ladder credited to the NSEA comes, per SMEI, from a 1942 member survey by its Long Island, NY chapter. Sample: fewer than 40. The survey itself is not published.
  • The "80% after five follow-ups, 44% give up" package first appears, in our search, in a 2009 Marketing Donut column that cites only "different studies". There, the 44% give up after one "no", not after one follow-up.
  • The famous "only 8%" is subtraction: 100 minus 44, 22, 14 and 12. Nobody measured it.
  • Brevet Group, Invesp, HubSpot, Calendly and Storydoc repeat the figures with no study of their own. Invesp's page even words the 44% the other way round.
  • What is measured: 93% of converted leads reached by the 6th call attempt (Leads360, 2012), three cold-call attempts to connect on average (Cognism, 2025), and 22% of daily cold callers who say they stop after one or two attempts (HubSpot, 2025).
1942
Year of the chapter survey SMEI traces the "fifth to twelfth contact" ladder to
Source: SMEI, 2021
Under 40
Sample size of that survey, per SMEI
Source: SMEI, 2021
93%
Converted leads first reached by the 6th call attempt (almost 3.5M leads)
Source: Leads360 (later Velocify), 2012
22%
Daily cold callers who say they stop after 1-2 attempts
Source: HubSpot, 2025

Key terms used in this article

Follow-up attempt
Any contact made after the first one with the same prospect, such as a second call, a reminder email or a call after a quote was sent.
Call attempt
One dial to a lead, whether or not anyone answers. Datasets on persistence usually count attempts until the first live conversation.
Connect rate
The share of dials that a prospect answers. It measures reaching a person, not qualifying or closing them.
Touchpoint
A single contact in any channel (call, email, message, social) in a sequence aimed at a meeting or a sale.

Where does "80% of sales need five follow-ups" come from?

From two places, and neither is a study you can read. The claim people repeat is a merger of two separate statements:

  • The NSEA ladder. The one that says 2% of sales are made on the first contact, 3% on the second, 5% on the third, 10% on the fourth and 80% on the fifth to twelfth contact. SMEI, which was earlier named the National Sales Executives Association, traces it to a 1942 survey of its Long Island, NY chapter's members (SMEI, 2021).
  • The follow-up and give-up package. 80% of non-routine sales after at least five follow-ups, with 44%, 22%, 14% and 12% of salespeople giving up after one, two, three and four "no"s. The earliest version we found is a 2009 Marketing Donut column by Robert Clay, founder of Marketing Wizdom, which credits only unnamed studies (archived copy).

Every later version, from Brevet Group in 2015 to HubSpot's statistics roundup updated in February 2026, names no source, names another page that names none, or credits a study or survey we could not find. The sections below follow each link in that chain, then set out the measured data on follow-up that does exist.

Was there a National Sales Executives Association study?

There was a survey, not a study in any modern sense. Sales & Marketing Executives International (SMEI), which says it was earlier named the National Sales Executives Association, looked into the figures on its own blog in August 2021. Its answer, verbatim: "In 1942, the Long Island, NY chapter of NSEA (now SMEI) surveyed their members to determine the ratio of calls made to sales made. The results of that study have been widely distributed, copied and pasted and appear on many social media and blog posts. Another thing that might surprise you is that the sample size was less than 40." (SMEI, "Sales Statistics - How many calls to close a sale?", 2021)

Three limits follow from SMEI's own account. The survey is from 1942. It surveyed members, a sample of fewer than 40, so it records what those members reported; SMEI does not say how they counted calls or sales. And its questions, results table and exact sample size are not published, so nobody can check them. SMEI asks the right question in the same post: "Was the sample size meaningful?"

SMEI's account covers the "fifth to twelfth contact" ladder only. It never mentions the 44% figure, so the 1942 survey cannot be used to source the "44% give up" half of the claim either.

The association itself was real. In 2014 VentureBeat's Stewart Rogers checked the name against web searches, the Council of Better Business Bureaus, IRS tools and foreign company registers, and concluded: "These stats are completely made up, and the National Sales Executive Association doesn't exist." (VentureBeat, 2014). The second half was wrong on the name. SMEI's history page says the organisation was founded in 1935 as the National Federation of Sales Executives, became National Sales Executives Association (NSE)-International in 1949 and became SMEI in 1961 (SMEI history), and SMEI's 2021 post answers the article directly: "Apparently Mr. Rogers didn't come across this history page". The article's wider point, that no traceable study stands behind the figures, still holds.

“Another thing that might surprise you is that the sample size was less than 40.”

What did the 2009 Marketing Donut column actually say?

The earliest traceable source we found for the full package (80% after five follow-ups plus the 44% give-up ladder) is a column by Robert Clay, founder of Marketing Wizdom, on the UK small-business site Marketing Donut, titled "Why eight per cent of sales people get 80 per cent of the sales". The Internet Archive captured it on 12 July 2009 (archived copy). Its only source line is: "Different studies carried out at different times, in different places, by different market research companies over a number of years all reveal that 80 per cent of non-routine sales occur only after at least five follow-ups."

Three details in the original disappear in later copies:

  1. "Non-routine" sales. Clay's 80% is about non-routine sales. Later copies drop the qualifier and apply the figure to all sales.
  2. "No"s, not follow-ups. His ladder has 44 per cent of sales people giving up after one "no", 22 per cent after two, 14 per cent after three and 12 per cent after four. It counts rejections, not follow-up attempts.
  3. No study, sample or year is given for any number in the column.

The same column makes two more claims without a source: that "only two per cent of sales occur when two parties meet for the first time", and that "only 20 per cent of sales leads are ever followed up". They are examples of what the column asserted, not findings. Whether Clay's 80% descends from the older NSEA ladder, the column does not say.

Marketing Donut later re-ran the column as "Why you must follow up leads" (archived copy, 2018). That is the page Calendly cites as its source, and it no longer exists: the URL returns a 404 and the domain now serves unrelated content, so only Internet Archive copies remain. A 2013 Dynamic Business article credits the figures to Clay two years before the Brevet Group post: "According to Clay, various studies have shown that 80 percent of non-routine sales occur after at least five follow-ups." (Dynamic Business, 2013). Business News Daily still links its "80% of sales are made after that fifth sales call" line to Clay's own site, where the page is now dead.

Do 44% of salespeople really give up after one follow-up?

No measured source says so. In the earliest version, 44% is the share of salespeople who give up after one "no", credited to unnamed studies. As the line was copied, the trigger changed. Brevet Group's 2015 post says "44% of sales reps give up after 1 follow-up" (Brevet Group, now on SBI Growth), and HubSpot's roundup says "44% of salespeople give up after a single follow-up attempt", credited to Invesp (HubSpot). Invesp's own page words it the other way round: "Only 44% of salespeople follow up after receiving a single 'no' from a potential customer." (Invesp). Elsewhere the figure is 48%: Storydoc, crediting Invesp, writes that "nearly half (48%) of salespeople give up after the first one" (Storydoc), and Business News Daily credits a separate ladder to "a study from Dartnell Corp", with 48% quitting after the first contact (Business News Daily).

The closest measured figures are smaller, and each one is about something narrower:

  • HubSpot survey, 2025. Of 379 sales professionals surveyed, among those who cold call daily, 22% say they make 1-2 call attempts before moving on from a prospect and 55% make 3-5. Among those who cold call regularly but not daily, the figures are 26% and 56% (HubSpot State of Cold Calling, 2025). Self-reported, cold calls only.
  • Leads360, 2012. "50% of leads are never called a second time, according to previous Leads360 research." That counts leads, not salespeople, and the earlier research has no separate published method (Leads360 white paper, archived).
  • Velocify, 2015 (vendor advertorial). "Velocify research has found most sales reps make just 1-2 contact attempts on a new lead before giving up, yet it's proven that 5-8 calls is optimal." No sample or method is given (CRM magazine, August 2015).
  • Gong, 2024. Gong describes the average rep as one who "stops once they get hit with one or two nasty objections". That is a description, not a measured share (Gong Labs).

So the direction has some support: a lot of follow-up stops early. The specific 44% does not.

Where does "only 8% of salespeople follow up five times" come from?

From subtraction. Clay's ladder adds up to 44 + 22 + 14 + 12 = 92, and the column concludes: "That tells you that 92 per cent of sales people give up after four 'no's', and only eight per cent of sales people ask for the order a fifth time." Nobody measured the 8%. It is what is left of 100 after four numbers that have no source. The column then adds a third unsourced number to reach its headline: "When you consider that 80 per cent of prospects say 'no' four times before they say 'yes', the inference is that 8 per cent of sales people are getting 80 per cent of the sales." (Marketing Donut, 2009, archived)

The "prospects say no four times" idea has its own drifting numbers. Invesp prints "60% of customers say 'no' four times before finally accepting a sales offer" (Invesp), and a 2013 PropertyID column by Dirk Zeller says "more than 60% of all sales are completed after the prospect has said 'no' at least four times", citing only unnamed "studies" (PropertyID, 2013). Neither names a source.

How did the statistic change as it was copied?

Lined up by date, the versions show the drift: "non-routine" disappears, "after one no" becomes "after one follow-up", 44% becomes 48% in some copies, and the credit moves from "different studies" to named firms that never ran one.

YearWhere it appearedThe 80% lineThe give-up lineCredited to
1942 (per SMEI)Source: SMEI, 2021NSEA Long Island, NY chapter member survey80% of sales on the fifth to twelfth contactNot part of itSurvey of fewer than 40 members, not published
2009Source: Marketing Donut, archived 2009Marketing Donut column, Robert Clay80% of non-routine sales after at least five follow-ups44% give up after one "no""Different studies ... by different market research companies"
2010Source: Selling Power, 2010Selling Power, Graham Roberts-Phelps80% of sales made after the fifth contact48% gave up after the first contactUnnamed survey of "several thousand salespeople"
2013Source: Dynamic Business, 2013Dynamic Business80% of non-routine sales after at least five follow-ups92% give up after four "no"sRobert Clay
2014Source: VentureBeat, 2014VentureBeat (the debunk)80% of sales on the fifth to twelfth contact48% of sales people never follow up"NSEA", which the article said did not exist
2015 (page date)Source: Brevet Group / SBI GrowthBrevet Group blog, now on SBI Growth80% require 5 follow-up calls after the meeting44% give up after 1 follow-upNo source given
2019 (refreshed later)Source: InvespInvesp statistics page80% typically require an average of 5 follow-up calls after the initial meetingOnly 44% follow up after a single "no"No source given
2022Source: Calendly, 2022Calendly blog80% require five follow-up calls after initial contact44% give up after one "no"Marketing Donut (linked page now gone)
2023Source: StorydocStorydoc blog80% require five follow-ups48% give up after the first one"Invesp's study"
2023 (last update)Source: Business News DailyBusiness News Daily80% made after the fifth sales call48% quit after the first contact"Dartnell Corp" (ladder); Clay's site (80%)
2026 (last update)Source: HubSpotHubSpot sales statistics roundup80% of successful sales take five or more follow-up calls44% give up after a single follow-up attemptInvesp

Two more ladders circulate with different numbers. Business News Daily credits "a study from Dartnell Corp" with 48% quitting after the first contact, 24% after the second, 12% after the third and 6% after the fourth, and links no Dartnell document; we found none (Business News Daily). Selling Power's 2010 version contradicts itself: it says "Seventy-three percent of the salespeople gave up after the second contact" and also "Eighty-five percent of the salespeople lasted until the third contact" (Selling Power). Both cannot be true. The same ladder is also credited to other people and firms on sales blogs; we could not open a primary source for any of them.

Which sources are behind the claim, and how reliable is each?

Every source we could trace, with what the page actually says and how much weight it can bear. "High as a record" means we are confident the page says this. It does not make the number true.

Cited asYearSample / methodExact finding on the pageConfidence
"National Sales Executive Association" (SMEI blog)Source: SMEI, 20212021Archive search by SMEI; the 1942 survey itself is not published1942 Long Island, NY chapter survey of calls made to sales made; "the sample size was less than 40"; 80% on the fifth to twelfth contactHigh that SMEI says this; Low as evidence (1942, sample under 40, unpublished)
NSEA "doesn't exist" (VentureBeat, Stewart Rogers)Source: VentureBeat, 20142014Web, BBB, IRS and register searches"These stats are completely made up, and the National Sales Executive Association doesn't exist."High as a record; the "doesn't exist" part is contradicted by SMEI's history page
Marketing Donut / Robert ClaySource: Marketing Donut, archived 20092009None named: "different studies"80% of non-routine sales after at least five follow-ups; 44 / 22 / 14 / 12% give up after 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 "no"s; so only 8% ask a fifth timeHigh (archived primary); Low as evidence (no study named)
Brevet Group (Brian Williams, PhD)Source: Brevet Group / SBI Growth2015None named"80% of sales require 5 follow-up calls after the meeting. 44% of sales reps give up after 1 follow-up."High as a record; no source on page
InvespSource: Invesp2019None named; credited to its own infographic"80% of sales typically require an average of 5 follow-up calls after the initial meeting"; "Only 44% of salespeople follow up after receiving a single 'no'"Medium (read through a reader service, the site blocks fetchers); no source on page
Invesp, as credited by HubSpotSource: HubSpot2026 (updated)Roundup crediting Invesp"80% of successful sales take five or more follow-up calls"; "44% of salespeople give up after a single follow-up attempt"High as a record of the misattribution
Marketing Donut, as credited by CalendlySource: Calendly, 20222022Credits Marketing Donut; the linked page now returns 404"80% of sales require five follow-up calls after initial contact. 44% of sales reps give up after one 'no.'"High as a record
"Invesp's study", as credited by StorydocSource: Storydoc2023Credits Invesp80% of sales require five follow-ups; "nearly half (48%) of salespeople give up after the first one"High as a record (44 has become 48)
"Dartnell Corp study" (Business News Daily)Source: Business News Daily2023 (updated)Not given48% quit after the first contact, 24% after the second, 12% after the third, 6% after the fourthLow (no Dartnell document found or linked)
Unnamed survey (Selling Power)Source: Selling Power, 20102010"Several thousand salespeople", no publisher or year80% of sales after the fifth contact; 48% gave up after the first; later numbers contradict each otherLow (unnamed, internally inconsistent)
Unnamed "studies" (PropertyID, Dirk Zeller)Source: PropertyID, 20132013None44 / 22 / 14 / 12% quit after the first to fourth "no"; "more than 60%" of sales after four "no"sLow (no source)

The one-line correction

The "80% on the fifth to twelfth contact" ladder is a 1942 member survey of fewer than 40, per SMEI. The "80% after five follow-ups, 44% give up" package goes back, as far as we could trace, to a 2009 column citing unnamed studies, and its 44% counted salespeople giving up after one "no". We found no study by Brevet Group or Invesp behind it. We ran the same kind of source audit on lead response time statistics, where the famous multiplier belongs to a different study than the one everyone credits, and on webinar attendance benchmarks.

Which parts of the claim have no source at all?

We searched for each of these and did not find it:

  • No link from the 1942 survey to the 44%. No NSEA or SMEI source connects the survey to "44% give up after one follow-up". SMEI's account covers the "fifth to twelfth contact" ladder only.
  • No Brevet Group study. The 2015 post names no source for this or any of its 21 statistics.
  • No Invesp study. Invesp's page credits the numbers to nothing but its own infographic.
  • No named study in the earliest traceable version. The 2009 Marketing Donut column cites only "different studies" by unnamed market research companies.
  • No Marketing Donut page to check today. The URL Calendly cites returns a 404 and the domain now serves unrelated content. Only Internet Archive copies remain.
  • No Dartnell document with the 48 / 24 / 12 / 6 ladder. Only Business News Daily and copies of it make that attribution.
  • No primary source for "six contact attempts increase contact rates by 70%". More on that below.

What does the measured data say about how many call attempts it takes?

Measured data on follow-up does exist. It counts call attempts to reach a lead or start a conversation, not "contacts a sale needs", and each dataset measures a slightly different thing:

StudyYearSampleWhat it measuresFindingConfidence
Leads360 (later Velocify), "The Ultimate Contact Strategy"Source: Leads360 white paper, archived2012Almost 3.5M leads from 400+ companiesWhen converted leads were first reached93% of converted leads reached by the 6th call attempt; leads needing 7+ attempts to reach were 45% less likely to convertMedium (vendor platform data)
MIT / InsideSales.com Lead Response Management studySource: MIT / InsideSales.com, 2007 (PDF)20076 companies, 15,000+ leads, 100,000+ call attemptsDial timing against contact and qualificationAfter 20 hours, every additional dial hurt the ability to make contact and qualifyHigh (primary PDF)
Cognism State of Cold CallingSource: Cognism2025204,000+ cold calls, 27,000+ conversationsCold-call attempts to reach a conversation3 attempts on average; 93% of conversations by the 3rd call, over 98% by the 5thMedium (vendor data)
Gong LabsSource: Gong Labs, 20242024300M+ cold callsConnect rate per dialAverage rep connects on 5.4% of dials; top quartile on 13.3%Medium (vendor data)
Bridge Group SDR report (10th ed.)Source: Bridge Group, 20252025351 B2B companies (online survey)Daily SDR activityPhone-centric teams: 56 dials and 4.6 quality conversations a dayHigh (published method; self-reported by companies)
RAIN Group prospecting researchSource: RAIN GroupNot stated489 sellers who prospect outboundTouches across channels to a first meeting8 touches on average; 5 for top performersMedium (seller survey by a training firm)
HubSpot State of Cold CallingSource: HubSpot, 20252025379 sales professionalsAttempts before moving on (self-reported)Daily cold callers: 22% make 1-2 attempts, 55% make 3-5Medium (vendor survey)
Velocify, reported by Mortgage Professional AmericaSource: Mortgage Professional America, 20182018Not disclosedSix-call sequence against calling at "optimal times"110% improvement in contact rates, against 7%Low to Medium (trade-press summary of vendor data)

Inbound leads (Leads360, 2012). Leads360, later Velocify, which became part of ICE Mortgage Technology, aggregated "almost 3.5 million leads from more than 400 companies", randomly selected clients, with leads generated in the first half of 2012. Its finding: "93% of all converted leads are reached by the sixth call attempt", and "more than half of all prospects that eventually convert are actually reached sometime after the first call attempt." Leads that needed seven or more calls to reach were 45% less likely to convert (Leads360 white paper, archived PDF). The same study is summarised in the Velocify fact box on our lead response time roundup.

The time limit (MIT / InsideSales, 2007). Persistence has a clock. The Lead Response Management study (six companies, 15,000+ leads, 100,000+ call attempts) found: "After 20 hours every additional dial your salespeople make actually hurts your ability to make contact to qualify a lead." Its authors are candid about what they could not tell: "Do additional call attempts after 20 hours actually turn people off to the point they actually hurt your chances of doing business? Can you warm them up again with different forms of media other than the phone? We don't know." (MIT / InsideSales.com, 2007, PDF). The speed findings from the same study are in our 5-minute lead response study breakdown.

Cold calls (Cognism, Gong, Bridge Group). Cognism's 2025 report, based on 204,000+ cold calls and 27,000+ conversations, says: "On average, connecting with a lead takes three cold call attempts"; by the third call 93% of conversations have happened, and over 98% by the fifth (Cognism). Gong Labs' analysis of 300M+ cold calls puts the average rep's connect rate at 5.4% of dials, against 13.3% for the top quartile (Gong Labs, 2024). Bridge Group's 2025 survey of 351 B2B companies found a median of 112 activities a day (44 of them phone), and phone-centric SDR teams averaging 56 dials and 4.6 quality conversations a day, which is roughly 12 dials per quality conversation by our arithmetic (Bridge Group, 2025). More detail on each is in our cold-call conversion rate roundup and the sales team call quota benchmarks.

All channels (RAIN Group). RAIN Group surveyed 489 sellers who prospect outbound and found "it takes an average of 8 touchpoints to get an initial meeting (or other conversion) with a new prospect", and that "It takes Top Performers an average of 5 touches to generate a conversion." RAIN does not print the research year (RAIN Group). These are touches across all channels to a first meeting, not follow-ups to a closed sale.

What did Velocify's "Ultimate Contact Strategy" find about six call attempts?

It found that six is where the returns flatten. The 2012 white paper says: "93% of all converted leads are reached by the sixth call attempt. In other words, only 7% of all leads that eventually convert are reached for the first time after seven or more call attempts, a substantial diminishing return." Its summary recommendation: "calling inquiries six times is the best way to achieve optimal conversion rates" (Leads360 white paper, archived PDF). It is vendor platform data with a stated method, so it is usable with that label.

A later Velocify study, reported by Mortgage Professional America in January 2018, looked at the order of calls rather than their number. It found that "making six follow-up calls at strategic intervals improved contact and conversion by 'much greater margins' than scheduling calls for so-called optimal times". Sequencing call attempts relative to when the prospect first showed interest "led to a 110% improvement in contact rates, compared to only a 7% boost from the 'optimal times' approach." The gap between the best and worst time of day to call was only 2.6 percentage points. The sample was not disclosed, so treat these as vendor figures (Mortgage Professional America, 2018). For how this plays out in one phone-heavy sector, see our mortgage lead response time statistics.

Is there a source for "six contact attempts increase contact rates by 70%"?

Not one we could find. The line is usually credited to Velocify or HubSpot, but the 2012 Leads360 white paper contains no such sentence; the only 70% in it is a value on a chart, not a stated lift. We found the sentence only on secondary blogs. The two Velocify figures that do have a document behind them are the 93%-by-the-sixth-attempt finding (2012, almost 3.5 million leads) and the 110% contact-rate improvement from a six-call sequence (2018, sample not disclosed), both covered above.

What can you quote instead of the 80% statistic?

If you need a number about follow-up persistence, these hold up, each with the label it needs:

  • 93% of converted leads were first reached by the sixth call attempt. Leads360 (later Velocify), 2012, almost 3.5 million leads, vendor platform data (source).
  • More than half of the prospects who eventually converted were reached after the first call attempt. Same source.
  • Connecting with a lead took three cold-call attempts on average, and over 98% of conversations happened by the fifth call. Cognism, 2025, 204,000+ cold calls, vendor data (source).
  • A first meeting with a new prospect took 8 touches on average. RAIN Group survey of 489 sellers, year not stated (source).
  • 22% of daily cold callers say they make one or two attempts before moving on. HubSpot, 2025, self-reported (source).

If you must mention the famous line, describe it as what it is: a widely repeated sales statistic that SMEI traces to a 1942 survey of fewer than 40 members, with a give-up ladder first found in a 2009 column that cites no study.

How many follow-up attempts should a business plan for?

The data gives a planning range, not a rule. On inbound leads, 93% of converted leads were first reached within six attempts (Leads360). On cold calls, over 98% of conversations happened within five (Cognism). Across all channels, a first meeting took eight touches on average (RAIN Group). And the MIT data sets a time limit: after the first 20 hours, each additional dial hurt the odds of making contact. Our reading of the four together: plan for five or six call attempts, most of them early, spaced from the moment the lead showed interest (the sequencing Velocify measured in 2018), then move the lead to a slower channel.

Knowing this is the easy part. None of these studies measures why attempts stop, but a likely reason is that redials compete with new leads, meetings and admin for the same hours. Leads360's earlier research put the share of leads never called a second time at 50%. That makes follow-up a capacity problem more than a knowledge problem, and the fix that holds is structural: a set attempt sequence that starts from the CRM, runs on schedule and logs every outcome, so the team spends its time on the conversations instead of the redials.

That is the work AInora's AI voice agents take on. A CRM event (a new enquiry, a quote sent, a call not answered) schedules the next attempt, the agent makes the call, logs the outcome back to the CRM and passes the conversations that need a person to the team. How that works step by step is in our guide to CRM-triggered AI follow-up calls. For leads that already went quiet, database reactivation works the opted-in leads and past customers already in your CRM, and this sizing method estimates what they are worth. Worked examples for old mortgage leads and old insurance quotes show the same pattern in two regulated sectors. For B2B outbound, AI appointment setting runs the multi-touch sequence through to a booked meeting.

To see what a set follow-up sequence would look like on your own leads, book a short call on our contact page.

Frequently Asked Questions

No study. Two separate claims were merged. The "80% of sales are made on the fifth to twelfth contact" ladder credited to the National Sales Executives Association traces, by the account of its successor SMEI, to a 1942 survey of its Long Island, NY chapter with a sample of fewer than 40. The "80% after five follow-ups, 44% give up" package first appears, in our search, in a 2009 Marketing Donut column by Robert Clay that credits only "different studies" by unnamed market research companies.Source: SMEI, 2021

The association was real: SMEI says it carried the National Sales Executives Association name from 1949 until it became SMEI in 1961. The statistic rests on very little. SMEI says the "fifth to twelfth contact" ladder comes from a 1942 survey of one chapter's members, with a sample of fewer than 40, and the survey itself is not published. VentureBeat called the figures "completely made up" in 2014; SMEI's 2021 post answered that the association did exist, while asking itself whether the sample size was meaningful.Source: SMEI history

No measured source says so. In the earliest version (Marketing Donut, 2009) the 44% are salespeople who give up after one "no", cited to unnamed studies. Later copies changed it to "after one follow-up". Invesp's own page words it the other way round: only 44% of salespeople follow up after a single "no". The closest measured figure is HubSpot's 2025 survey, where 22% of daily cold callers say they make one or two attempts before moving on.Source: HubSpot, 2025

From arithmetic in the 2009 Marketing Donut column. It lists 44%, 22%, 14% and 12% of salespeople giving up after one, two, three and four "no"s. Those add up to 92%, so the column concludes that only 8% ask for the order a fifth time. The 8% was never measured, and the four numbers it is subtracted from have no named source.Source: Marketing Donut, archived 2009

Not that we could find. Brevet Group's 2015 post "21 Mind-Blowing Sales Stats", now on SBI Growth's site, names no source for any of its statistics. Invesp's follow-up statistics page credits its numbers only to its own infographic. HubSpot and Storydoc cite Invesp; Calendly cites Marketing Donut, whose page no longer exists.

In Cognism's 2025 analysis of 204,000+ cold calls, connecting took three attempts on average, and over 98% of conversations happened by the fifth call. For inbound leads, Leads360 (later Velocify) found across almost 3.5 million leads that 93% of converted leads were first reached by the sixth call attempt. Both are vendor data, and both measure reaching a person, not closing a sale.Source: Cognism, 2025

The 2012 white paper, published by Leads360 before it renamed itself Velocify, analysed almost 3.5 million leads from more than 400 companies. 93% of converted leads were reached by the sixth call attempt, leads that took seven or more attempts to reach were 45% less likely to convert, and earlier Leads360 research had found 50% of leads were never called a second time. It recommends calling inquiries six times.Source: Leads360 white paper, archived

We found none. The 2012 Leads360 (Velocify) white paper contains no such sentence; the only 70% in it is a chart value, not a stated lift. The documented Velocify figures are 93% of converted leads reached by the sixth attempt (2012) and a 110% contact-rate improvement from a six-call sequence timed from when the lead showed interest (2018, reported by Mortgage Professional America, sample not disclosed).Source: Mortgage Professional America, 2018

Our reading of the measured data: plan for five or six call attempts. Cognism found over 98% of cold-call conversations by the fifth call, and Leads360 found 93% of converted inbound leads reached by the sixth. The MIT / InsideSales study adds a time limit, finding that after 20 hours each additional dial hurt the ability to make contact. In practice that means a set sequence started from the CRM, early and spaced, rather than relying on someone remembering to call back.Source: MIT / InsideSales.com, 2007

Yes. An AI voice agent connected to the CRM can make the scheduled follow-up attempts, log each outcome and pass the conversations that need a person to the sales team, so attempts two to six happen without taking hours from the people closing deals. AInora sets up these CRM-triggered follow-up calls for new enquiries, open quotes and opted-in dormant leads.

JB
Justas Butkus

Founder & CEO, AInora

Building AI voice agents that let businesses serve more clients with the same team. The agents call back every new lead, re-contact past customers and take the calls the team cannot get to, and the work lands in the client's own CRM.

View all articles

Ready to try AI for your business?

Hear how AInora sounds handling a real business call. Try the live voice demo or book a consultation.